HPCAT

at the Advanced Photon Source

CDAC Webinar/Talks

Please join us for this CDAC Zoom talk/webinar:

Date:  Wednesday, March 10, 2021 - 1pm (CST)
Speaker: James Walsh (UMass Amherst)
Title: Experimentally accessing novel structural and magnetic phases with pressure

For background, see:


     Upcoming Webinars:        

Date:  Wednesday, March 17, 2021 - 1pm (CDT)
Speaker: Yogesh K. Vohra (University of Alabama at Birmingham)
Title: Perspectives on Nanocrystalline and Toroidal Diamonds in Ultrahigh Pressure Materials Research

Date:  Wednesday, May 26, 2021 - 1pm (CDT)
Speaker: Wenli Bi (University of Alabama at Birmingham)
Title: TBA


     Past Webinars: 

Date:  Wednesday, March 3, 2021 - 1pm (CST)
Speaker: Thomas Mattsson (Sandia National Laboratories)
Title: Material Physics with Pulsed Power at Sandia
Abstract

Date:  Wednesday, February 24, 2021 - 1pm (CST)
Speaker: Shanti Deemyad (University of Utah)
Title: Symmetry Breaking Transitions and Light Alkalis Under Pressure

Date:  Wednesday, February 10, 2021 - 1pm (CST)
Speaker: Brent Fultz (California Institute of Technology)
Title: "Phonon entropy at high temperatures and pressures"

Date:  Wednesday, February 3, 2021 - 1pm (CST)
Speaker: Maosheng Miao (California State University Northridge)
Title: "Novel Chemistry at High Pressures"

Date:  Wednesday, January 27, 2021 - 1pm (CST)
Speaker: Natalia Dubrovinskaia  (University of Bayreuth)
Title: "Chemistry at High Pressures Revealed by Single-Crystal X-Ray Diffraction"

Date:  Wednesday, January 13, 2021 - 1pm (CST)
Speaker: Roald Hoffmann (Cornell University)
Title: "Looking for Conceptual Connections Between Bonding at 1 Atmosphere and Elevated Pressures” 

Date:  Wednesday, January 6, 2021 - 1pm (CST)
Speaker: Reini Boehler (Neutron Scattering Division, Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
Title: "Unsolved Phase Diagrams of Simple Materials"

Date:  Wednesday, December 16, 2020 - 1pm (CST)
Speaker: Tiange Bi (Buffalo University)
Title: "To Superconduct or Not?  A Tale of Four Hydrides under Pressure"

Date:  Wednesday, December 9, 2020 - 1pm (CST)
Speaker: Dan Sun (LANL)
Title: "High Pressure / High Magnetic Field Research at the Los Alamos MagLab: Recent Studies of Hydride Superconductors"

Date:  Wednesday, December 2, 2020 - 1pm (CST)
Speaker: Amy Jenei (LLNL)
Title: "Extending X-ray Diffraction Measurements to 20 Mbar (2 TPa)"

Date:  Wednesday, November 18, 2020 - 1pm (CST)
Speaker: Michael Demkowicz (Texas A&M University)
Title: "Solid-state interfaces and their effect on the properties of multiphase metals"

Date:  Wednesday, November 4, 2020 - 1pm (CST)
Speaker: Elissaios Stavrou (LLNL)
Title: "The Quest for a Novel Periodic Table Under Pressure" 

Date:  Wednesday, October 28, 2020 - 1pm (CDT)
Speaker: Kierstin Daviau (Univ. of Waikato) 
Title: "Exploring the Stability of SiC at High Pressures and Temperatures"

Date:  Wednesday, October 21, 2020 - 1pm (CDT)
Speaker: Bianca Haberl (ORNL) 
Title: "High-Pressure Neutron Scattering: Hydrides and Group IVa Materials"

Date:  Wednesday, October 14, 2020 - 1pm (CDT)
Speaker: Chen Li (UC Riverside) 
Title: "Inelastic X-ray Scattering Studies of Lattice Dynamics in 2D and Chiral Materials"

Date:  Wednesday, October 7, 2020 - 1pm (CDT)
Speaker: Priscila Rosa (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
Title: "Strongly Correlated Materials Under Pressure"

Date:  Wednesday, September 30, 2020 - 1pm (CDT)
Speaker: Martin Rahm (Department of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Chalmers University of Technology
Gothenburg, Sweden)
Title: "Van der Waals Radii of the Atoms Under Compression”

Date:  Wednesday, September 23, 2020 - 1pm (CDT)
Speaker: Max Amsler (Material Science and Engineering, Cornell University)
Title: "Rapid Assessment of High-Pressure Phase Stability from High-Throughput DFT Calculations”

Date:  Wednesday, September 16, 2020  - 1pm (CDT)
Speaker:  Valery Levitas (Iowa State/Ames) 
Title: 
"Plastic Strain Induced Phase Transformations under High Pressure" 

Date:  Wednesday, September 9, 2020  - 1pm (CDT)
Speaker:  Barbara Lavina (Argonne National Laboratory, XSD, APS) 
Title: 
"The Transformative Power of High Pressure Micro-Diffraction Techniques: New Examples" 

Date:  Wednesday, August 26, 2020  - 1pm (CDT)
Speaker:  Elif Ertekin (University of Illinois 
at Urbana-Champaign
Title: 
"Mechanical Properties of Shape Memory Alloys: Controlling Structural Transformations and Elastocaloric Response With Pressure" 

Date:  Wednesday, August 19, 2020  - 1pm (CDT)
Speaker:  Daniel Haskel (Argonne National Laboratory, XSD, APS) 
Title: 
"Magnetism at High Pressures and Search for Quantum Liquids" 

Date:  Wednesday, August 12, 2020  - 1pm (CDT)
Speaker:  Katerina Hilleke (University at Buffalo) 
Title: 
"Visualizing Atomic Sizes With Chemical Pressure" 

Date:  Wednesday, July 29, 2020  - 1pm (CDT)
Speaker:  Susannah Dorfman (Michigan State University) 
Title: 
"Strength, compressibility and grain size to Megabar Pressures" 

Date:  Wednesday, July 22, 2020  - 1pm (CDT)
Speaker:  Ercan Alp (Argonne National Laboratory, XSD, APS) 
Title: 
"Mossbauer Resonance and High Pressure Science" 

Date:  Wednesday, July 8, 2020  - 1pm (CDT)
Speaker:  Kanani Lee (LLNL) 
Title: 
"Reconciling Discrepant High Pressure Melting Curves" 

Date:  Wednesday, July 1, 2020  - 1pm (CDT)
Speaker:  Lowell Miyagi (University of Utah) 
Title: 
"Deformation Mechanisms at Extreme Conditions" 

Date:  Wednesday, June 17, 2020  - 1pm (CDT)
Speaker:  Jon Belof (LLNL) 
Title: 
"Phase Kinetics for Extreme Conditions at LLNL" 

Date:  Wednesday, June 10, 2020  - 1pm (CDT)
Speaker:  Maik Lang (University of Tennessee, Knoxville) 
Title: "Structural Transformations at Extreme Conditions: Coupling High-Pressure Cells with Energetic Ion Beams"

Date:  Wednesday, June 3, 2020  - 1pm (CDT)
Speaker:  Sakun Duwal (Sandia National Laboratories) 
Title: 
"Shock Compression of Pre-Compressed H2-He Mixtures" 

Date:  Wednesday, May 20, 2020  - 1pm (CDT)
Speaker:  Larissa Huston (Los Alamos National Laboratory

Title: 
"Dynamic compression of titanium" 

Date:  Thursday, May 7, 2020  - 1pm (CDT)
Speaker:  Dmitry Popov (Argonne National Laboratory, XSD, APS) 
Title: 
"Current and Future Capabilities for Measurements of Material Properties Under extreme Conditions at High Pressure Collaborative Access Team (HPCAT)"